The Third Device

A blog about the iPad.

How to Americanize your iPad

I envy US Apple fans. Not only do they get first crack at everything, they also have access to apps and services that the rest of us either have to wait for, or never get to use at all. American residents enjoy music streaming services like Pandora, video streams from Hulu, Netflix and the TV networks, and can pick from a couple of thousand extra books on the Amazon Kindle store shelves.

Today I’d like to discuss how you can set your iPad up so that it thinks it’s logged on from the United States rather than from here in good ol’ Pinas. When it comes to sourcing media from abroad, there are lots of little loopholes you can take advantage of, which is why I have a US iTunes Store Account and a US Kindle account without having actually possessing a US credit card – but that’s the subject for another post.

First off, here’s the most important ingredient: you need a VPN service. In corporate usage, a VPN allows you to access your company’s network from wherever you may be in the world, via the public Internet. But for our purposes, a VPN also allows you to connect to a computer (say, in Seattle, USA) then appear to the rest of the Internet as if your own machine is logged on from that same location.

I highly recommend HideMyNet.com, which not only maintains servers in various US cities but in the UK, Singapore, Germany, and other European cities as well. They charge $5/month for unlimited usage.Their setup page has easy to follow instructions for iPhone, OS X, Windows, and of course the iPad. (And if you do sign up for an account, tell em I sent you!)

HideMyNet.com

Once your VPN is configured, all you have to do is toggle the slider switch. The iPad will negotiate with HideMyNet’s servers, and (if all goes well) in a matter of seconds you’ll see a “VPN” box appear next to your Wifi signal indicator.

Pandora + iOS4 multitasking = Love.

Now for the fun part. If you launch Pandora, or Hulu, or the ABC.com app, you will no longer see a territorial restriction warning. Have at it, and have fun.

Easy as ABC ... dot com.

Incidentally, while Pandora works great, especially on a multitasking iOS4 device like my iPod Touch, the Hulu app for iPad sucks. Better to set your VPN up on a laptop or desktop as well and just access the content off the Hulu website.

Enjoy!

July 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

14 Comments »

  1. iLove this post!

    Comment by ricpac | July 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Tay, we have our very own ‘David Pogue’ in the good ‘ol RP!

    Comment by Chito | July 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. Nice one Vic! Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

    Comment by egarayblas | July 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. hi vic. how’ve you been?

    have been thinking about doing this to watch the bbc F1 broadcast. have you tried that?

    cheers

    Comment by andrew roque | July 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Yup! I was able to do that using the UK server of hidemynet. However that was sometime last year, I haven’t tried recently but it should still work.

      Comment by Vic | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hey Vic! I need help getting Pandora Radio into my iPad. Apparently I need a US iTunes account, which I can’t set up without a US CC. How’d you go about yours?

    I already got hidemynet which works perfectly with pandora on my laptop already. Thanks!

    Comment by Oliver Ang | July 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Try http://www.tunezip.com … I haven’t used them personally but i have an account with a similar supplier on eBay, been using them for the last 3 years. I can give you their contact info if you want. Same process though.

      Comment by Vic | July 8, 2010 | Reply

      • I get itunes GCs via http://www.maximuscards.com/

        a bit pricey but i get my redemption code instantly.

        who’s your contact at ebay? they might be cheaper πŸ™‚

        Comment by andrew roque | July 8, 2010

  6. Andrew and Oliver: Yup it looks like my supplier is cheaper …. email Susan or Jeremy at jmbbennett@hotmail.com and tell her I referred you. You may not get the code immediately but you’ll get it within 24 hours.

    Comment by Vic | July 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Vic! I’m doing a little project kasi on my car audio with the ipad as source unit so having Pandora would be a dream!

      Comment by Oliver | July 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Vic! Will drop them an email! Trying to connect my iPad to my car audio, having Pandora on it would be great!

      Comment by Oliver Ang | July 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. So any itunes gift card should work?

    Comment by anton boc | July 8, 2010 | Reply

    • That is correct, sir. Just make sure it’s a US iTunes card.

      Comment by Vic | July 8, 2010 | Reply

      • I talked to Jeremy and got my instructions on how to set up the US-based account. Will update once I get everything done. Thanks again Vic!

        Comment by Oliver Ang | July 8, 2010


Leave a Reply

