The Third Device

A blog about the iPad.

Product Review: Apple iPad Case

Ever since taking delivery of my shiny new toy, the only concession I’ve made to its safety is the purchase of a simple cloth slipcase. No screen protectors, no rubber moulding, nada.

I did want to buy a case, I just wasn’t sure which one was the right one. Out of all the cases available on the market, the one that intrigued me the most (other than the wincingly expensive Vaja iVolution series)  is the one made by Apple itself. I knew I wanted it the first time I saw photos demoing how you could fold it, flip it over and lay it down at the perfect angle for typing, or prop it up in landscape mode to watch videos or serve as a pricey digital picture frame.

The angled keyboard mode - my favorite

Today, I finally took delivery of one and here are some initial thoughts:

It’s light. Which is good, because when I first picked up an iPad straight out of the box, my first reaction was “OMG this is heavier than I expected”.  So the addition of more weight would not have been a good thing.

It’s reasonably good looking, and sort of masculine. And I hope to God no one ever uses that previous sentence to describe me.

I also like the fact that the embossed Apple logo on the front cover is the same color as the rest of the case; it’s muted, subdued, and stealthy.

The material that the case is made out of is weird. It’s definitely not leather, unless it’s from some strange alien disco cow. I can’t quite tell what it is, but I can tell you what it does well: after only a few hours of use, it’s good at attracting dust, dirt, and various other icky things from the course of your day. I wouldn’t say it feels cheap, but I wouldn’t pay more than the $39 MSRP for this case if I was shopping for it. It does look like it will do a fair enough job of protecting the iPad from scuffs, scrapes, and very very short falls.

It’s EXTREMELY difficult to get the iPad in and out of the case. To wit: I thought I’d spruce up this blog entry by timing how long it would take me to get the iPad out and put it back in. I started the timer and set to work. After a minute and a half of wrestling with the iPad from various angles, I threw my hands up in disgust and said, to hell with it. So basically, once it’s in – leave it in.

The previous paragraph should cause major concern to owners of iPad docks, because there’s no way you’re getting your iPad into that dock once you’ve suited it up in the Apple iPad case. You basically have a choice – case, or dock. Pick one.

Lest I end this review on negative note, let me balance things out by saying that the iPad is a lot nicer to hold now, and less likely to slip through your fingers. I don’t really mind the added step of having to flip a cover around and out of the way. I like the two new “modes” (i.e. landscape picture frame and angled keyboard) a lot.

Little picture frame, meet big picture frame.

And for me, possibly the biggest plus about the Apple case (or any other case of this type) is that in a public area, people won’t immediately recognize the iPad for what it is – you can read books or surf the net without attracting undue attention. All in all, I’m pretty happy with this case.

Until the Vaja arrives. No, I’m kidding. Really.

May 27, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. The leather bag?

    Comment by Jerry tieng | May 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. Nah just the leather case. Black with red racing stripes. Mmm.

    Comment by Vic | May 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. The cases look really really, but how does one deal with the top cover once it’s off it – esp when you’re on the go? Hmm..

    Comment by Jerry Tieng | May 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

