The Third Device

A blog about the iPad.

Hello, iPad. Goodbye, iPhone.

If you’ve read my earlier posts, you know I’ve already given up my Kindle in favor of reading book content on my iPad.

This afternoon, I’ve let go of my iPhone as well. It’s moved on to a happy new home (Congratulations, JV!)

I’ve been an iPhone user since launch (well, July 2007 anyhow) and while it was and still is a great device, my main phone for the last two years or so has been a BlackBerry. I’ve always preferred the BlackBerry’s tactile keyboard and speed over the iPhone’s versatility. I feel Apple made a great multimedia device with a so-so phone built into it, while RIM has got the communications part down pat while falling short everywhere else.

In fact, there have been recent instances that I’ve accidentally left my iPhone at home and don’t realize it til the middle of the day. Part  of that is attributable to the fact that my main cellphone number has been tied to my BlackBerry for the longest time.  In fact, if you have two numbers stored for me in your address book, go ahead and delete the Globe one because I’ll gradually be phasing it out completely.

But the more compelling reason is that most of the apps I’ve been using on the iPhone run just as well, if not improved, on the iPad. Without the need for mobile phone functionality, there’s nothing to be gained by carrying both Apple devices. It’s just redundant.

Now I’m reassessing my gadget collection to see what else I can trim away in my post-iPad era. Say, anyone want to make me an offer for my Archos 500?

EDITED: That should read “make me an offer for my Archos 5“. I forgot I sold the Archos 500 a few years ago.

Okay, I have too many gadgets damnit.

May 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Come to think of it, another era is coming to an end as well. I’ve had the Globe number since college! Must be 20 years now, maybe more.

    Comment by Vic | May 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Dude! WTH?! You gave up your iPhone?! We’ll see if you don’t buy another one when the new one comes out. Hahaha

    Comment by Dickoy | May 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha! Until they release an iPhone with a physical keyboard (and we all know that isn’t going to happen) I’m staying with BlackBerry.

      Comment by Vic | May 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Do you have any spare(?) e-book reading / whatever devices that I can borrow for our trip? I don’t really want to lug around all these books for the plane rides 😦

    Comment by Wenk. | May 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

